top of page

Composed for the Mill Ave Chamber Players

during their 2017-2018 season.



"Impressions" for woodwind quintet is one piece out of nine that make up the "Impressions" series.​


My intention with the "Impressions" series was to present to both the audience and the performers short and simple character pieces, each leaving very contrasting mental images of people, places, or ideas. To achieve this, I not only use very different stylistic qualities in each movement, but different compositional techniques, varying degrees of tonality, and varying degrees of prescriptive score markings. This makes every movement as unique to interpret and understand as say, a person you would pass on the street.


Further, some of the movements allow for a myriad of interpretations within themselves due to the lack of prescriptive markings, the written encouragement of ornamentations, and the use of improvisation or aleatoric techniques. I encourage performer and listener alike to explore the innumerable interpretive possibilities available.


Composed, Engraved, and Published by Thomas Breadon Jr.



SKU: 364215376135191
  • Listen Here


    for woodwind quintet



    • Score
    • Flute
    • Oboe/English Horn
    • Clarinet in Bb
    • Horn in F
    • Bassoon
bottom of page